Jimmy Dodson to Chair American Cotton Producers in '10

James F. “Jimmy” Dodson, a Robstown, TX, producer, was elected as chairman of the American Cotton Producers of the NCC for '10.

February 10, 2010
Contact: Marjory Walker
(901) 274-9030

MEMPHIS – James F. “Jimmy” Dodson, a Robstown, TX, producer, was elected as chairman of the American Cotton Producers (ACP) of the National Cotton Council (NCC) for 2010, during the NCC’s annual meeting here on February 4-8. Dodson has served on and chaired various ACP committees, including his current chairmanship of the ACP Farm Policy Committee. He also has served on numerous NCC panels and currently chairs its Farm Program & Economic Policy Committee and its Payment Eligibility Task Force.

Elected as an ACP vice chairman was Allen McLaurin, Laurel Hill, NC. Re-elected vice chairmen were Rick Bransford, Lonoke, AR; and Clyde T. Sharp, Roll, AZ. Elected as NCC producer directors were:  Frank W. Rogers, III, Bennettsville, SC, from the Southeast region, and Michael J. Alexander of Colorado City, TX, from the Southwest region. Re-elected directors are John W. Willis, Brownsville, TN, from the Mid-South region; Don Cameron, Helm, CA, from the Western  region, and Dodson, at-large.

Serving as ACP state producer chairmen in 2010: Alabama – Neal Isbell, Muscle Shoals, and Walter L. Corcoran, Jr., Eufaula; Arizona – Paul Ollerton, Casa Grande, and Greg Wuertz, Casa Grande; Arkansas – Herrick F. Norcross, Tyronza; California – Ted Sheely, Lemoore; Florida – B. E. “Sonny” Davis, Jr., Cottondale; Georgia – Chuck Lee, Pembroke, and Ronald C. Lee, Bronwood; Kansas – Robert H. Miller, Wellington; Louisiana – Stephen E. Logan, Gilliam, and Thomas A. Parker, Lake Providence; Mississippi – Dan Branton, Leland; Missouri/Illinois – Steve Droke, Hornersville, MO; New Mexico – Carl Moore, El Paso, TX; North Carolina – Gary L. Respess, Pantego, and David M. Dunlow, Gaston; Oklahoma – Danny Robbins, V, Altus, and Joe D. White, Frederick; South Carolina – Roy Baxley, Dillon, and Kendall W. Wannamaker, Saint Matthews; Tennessee/Kentucky – Jimmy Moody, Dyersburg, TN; Texas – Craig Heinrich, Lubbock; Doyle K. Schniers, San Angelo; Shawn L. Holladay, Lamesa; and Jon R. Whatley, Odem; and Virginia – J.W. Jones, Windsor.